Skip to content

The VP Contest – Ramping Up!

October 9, 2010

I decided to take a break last night and relax with B.  I think it was the first home made meal we had made in almost 3 weeks.  She has been just as insanely busy as I have and we have definitely been neglecting a few life fundamentals.  We spent some time reflecting on how crazy the past month and a half has been and I was explaining to her how fortunate I am to not only be able to participate in such an experience, however, to have someone in my life that supported me without question through the whole process.  I unveil these things not in order to be sappy and mushy, but to bring it all back to the real world perspective.  There has been a relatively large sacrifice from many people in order for me to work as efficiently and to be as dedicated as I have been in this particular contest.

Therefore, as we sat back last night watching the new Karate Kid, with Jackie Chan & Jaden Smith, (although it was somewhat entertaining, it will never replace the original) there was a line in the movie that just seemed to strike a chord with me.  Jackie Chan is trying to get through to Jaden and he says: “Your Focus… Needs More Focus.”

This movie had a different effect on my from the original version.  When I was 7 years old and as I watched Daniel LaRusso (Ralph Macchio) rise to be a great karate champion, I was running around “Hi’ ya-ing”, kicking and karate chopping everything around me.  Last night made me realize that its really time to focus.  My focus needs more focus.  Although I feel  my efforts have been laser like, its time to ramp up even more.  Too many people have contributed to my efforts.  Too many people have supported me in this contest not to win.

Therefore, it’s all about bringing it home and taking everything I have done, turn the last corner of this marathon race and start sprinting.  The sprint begins today and I will do everything I can to power to next Friday, Oct. 15th.

From this point forward… Winning is everything.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie Hernandez permalink
    October 9, 2010 2:50 pm

    You already are a winner Bob, in every way possible. But that doesn’t mean I’m not in this with you til the end 🙂

    • October 13, 2010 11:38 pm

      Julie!! You have been unbelievably committed during the past 7 weeks! Thank you for your support, talent and skills!!

  2. Mike permalink
    October 10, 2010 3:08 pm

    your the best arounnnnd….nothins gonnna ever get you dowwwn…your the besttt arroooound…..nothins gonna evvverr gett you doooown,..!

Leave a Reply

