Skip to content

The VP Contest – FINAL DAY

October 15, 2010

So the day has really come… I still remember when I was contemplating submitting my application to be considered for The VP Contest.  The moment I was chosen to participate, I told myself that I would probably never be given the opportunity or have the ability to openly demonstrate and test my business acumen.  I have had a rough past couple of years and finding a job or trying to get someone to listen to you on why you would be valuable to their organization simply didn’t exist  anymore.  Therefore, with guns blazing I sprinted out of the starting gate on August 30th and without realizing it I have continued the sprint for 7 weeks, running like a bat out of hell to fully embrace the opportunity that I have been given.

7 weeks… 1,176 hours.  I have felt every minute of every hour.  Sleep has been put on the side as I believe I averaged 3 hours a night for the first 5 weeks until my body finally caught up to me.  With my adrenal glands shot with the overdose of caffeine that I have taken in, the only thing that I have had to power my engines is the sheer will to fight and win.  I have learned a tremendous amount about myself during this past month and a half and I have met some truly incredible people as well as forming new strong relationships with individuals that I hope to keep within my orbit for years to come.  I have updated my achievements page and included 95% of everything I successfully completed.  It’s difficult to look at that list as it appears thin to me in comparison to the effort and the hundreds of calls and emails it took to solidify them.  Not including, the hundreds of calls and emails required to get a deal almost closed then have it fall out for one reason or another.

With 2 hours to go until the final bell, I have decided to stop making calls and simply hang up my hat and process all that I have been through.  No matter what the outcome (results presented next Thursday.. brutal waiting period!)  I am proud that I had the ability to kick myself back into high gear and to start fighting again for a brighter tomorrow.

I have decided that I will continue to blog, however, I will be shifting gears with it.  I have been approached by one of the co-founders of one of the sponsoring companies as well as one of the final 10 contestants to start a freelance business development, sales & marketing company.  We plan on making this a side project as our main focus will be on the companies we are employed by (in my case, hopefully employed by), however, I am excited to share it once it is launched.  I know that our group of 3 can provide powerful solutions for small to mid sized companies looking for short term assistance.

2 more hours… then IM OFFICIALLY DONE!!

Special thanks to my family, friends and fiance for unruly support to allow me to spend the 100 hours a week necessary to fight through this competition.  Julie H., who has been an incredible supporter and talented behind the scenes marketing coordinator for me, Cory O. for his talent and skills in multi-media production, Woody & Brad from Skillcount to allow me to utilize their platform for the National Eco-Awareness Contest, Darryl from Suntopia Films for his talent in helping me put together the MBFS video, Nicole P. with her support, technical expertise and uncanny ability to help drive projects forward, Ellen G. to help promote and allow access of FitPass to her network marketing group, Chris W. whose expertise in the beverage industry allowed me to gain insight on how to approach such a competitive market effectively and efficiently, Felena H. for her initial and continued support of my efforts during the contest, Jen W. for her talents in writing and launching press releases,  Jackie & Tim from Custom Facebook Designs for their assistance in developing the Earth-List FBML site, Amy D. for her graphic design work for the EL FBML page, Reju from Reynex for his assistance in the development of the landing page for MBFS, Pete S. for his assistance in development of the EL Business landing page, Mike K. for his assistance in the development of the FitPass Landing Page, Ethan for his assistance in developing the landing pages for Shumway, special thanks to the CEO’s, team members and staff of all the sponsoring companies to open their doors and provide unlimited support to my requests, and last but definitely not least all the supporters and friends who have been following my journey and have given me the inspiration to work harder each and every day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie Hernandez permalink
    October 15, 2010 3:38 pm

    I know it’s too soon for you to accept congratulations but listen up young man. You are an inspiration; one of the hardest PEOPLE I have ever met (despite your article on women). Your commitment and drive in this competition have been astounding. These companies are lucky to have someone like you representing them and the VP Contest will forever now have to compare other contestants to you… those are gonna be some tough shoes to fill. Regardless of your outcome, you’re a rock star in my eyes.

  2. Julie Hernandez permalink
    October 15, 2010 4:04 pm

    I meant to say hardest WORKING, but someone called as I was typing ;oP~ (can’t believe you let that one fly by)

Leave a Reply

